In My Own Little Corner

My infatuation with Cinderella’s story
Was no more than the deeper allegory
Of a yearning for my own little space
Where just me and the quiet may embrace
And commune in its all-consuming glory

One could never express or more clearly state
The sense of pure comfort that is clearly innate
When I close the door with a deep exhale
And all the distractions around set sail
I am back in my corner and the world can wait

With the confines of just one life to give
And time that seems to pass through a sieve
My imagination begins to run wild
I am myself as I was a child
Even Cinderella knew she had more to live

In these moments of the quiet and me
From the daily whirlwind I am set free
It’s a time to return to the self
And place everything else upon the shelf
So I can be whatever I want to be

One thought on “In My Own Little Corner

  1. Yesssssss, love this. I didn’t truly appreciate that song until I was an adult, and so I am particularly fond of this adult reflection on it.

    Like

Leave a comment