Flower Boxes

I tried to make you beautiful
Since you are what I see
When I gaze out my kitchen window
And your white siding gleams back at me

Those bright blue flower baskets
Were my effort to add some contrast
Those boxes that border your broken windows
Were my endeavors to uplift the downcast

When spring rolls around each year
She teases my solo green thumb
So I troll the garden stores in my hood
In search of seeds and the dreams of what they’ll become

I hold the wet earth in my hand
Fill basket and box in a ritual of care
Scooping marigolds, petunias, and zinnias,
Each one gifted their own individual prayer

That they may have room to grow and blossom
And radiate joy, peace, and inspiration
That they will compliment their neighbors
And hopefully not suffer from dehydration

Oh, there you are now, tall and proud,
Adorned and bursting with nature’s glory
The birds are singing and skies are blue,
One never could’ve known your other story

But alas, the spring is short
For soon summer’s sun is in full blast
Then quite quickly autumn make it’s swift return
Those petals and prayers have now long past

And here we are, again staring,
You at me, and me at you,
The dried dirt of our yesterdays still lingers,
As the call sounds for our last spring dance, “Adieu”

2 thoughts on “Flower Boxes

Leave a comment